Sailor Pro Gear Slim Mini Review

collectorofmanythings

I am relatively new to Fountain Pens (I started in early December 2020) and a little bit ago I got my first gold nib pen, which was my “grail pen” when I started, so now I am going to do a review!

Design (9/10)

I personally have small hands, so I don’t mind pocket pens. I understand how many don’t like pocket pens, but I personally love them. 

On this particular pen, it has a stair-step looking clip, which comes not out of but just under a gold band, and on the finial is the Sailor anchor. Below the cap, there is a thin gold band and right under that is a thicker gold band, which has stamped on it, “Sailor Japan Founded 1911”. There is a little more resin underneath and that is the end of the cap. At the end of the barrel there are some threads (will talk about later) and then another thin gold band. 

When you unscrew the cap (which takes about 1 and 7/8 turns) it reveals a beautiful 14k gold nib (which personally is my second favorite designed nib, right after the Pineider Quill Nib) that has “1911” on it, and underneath that the Sailor anchor, and then much smaller at the bottom of the nib is “14K”, “585” and the old Sailor logo that has the top of the S go all the way to the r. As far as I know, they only use it on their nibs now. It is surrounded by beautiful scrollwork. The grip section is a very, very dark gray with a flair at the end that tapers all the way up to a thin gold band, which goes back up to the threads which I don’t find sharp at all. There is a little space behind the threads and then there is a small step.

The reason this is a 9/10 instead of a 10/10 is because it is a pocket pen, which not everyone loves, and then there is also threads on the back which I don’t like at all. I post most of my pens and I find this as just and extra step, which also just doesn’t look good when capped.