In the process of browsing the various threads of FPN, I have noticed that there are quite a few active users who are teachers. What are your favorite teaching pens, and what purpose do they each serve?

In my middle school math classes I regularly use:

- Pilot Frixion 0.5 - Blue Black is my favorite, but I like having a variety of colors to use under the document camera. Explaining a concept can be so much clearer when I have different colors for different parts and have the ability to erase my mistakes cleanly.

http://www.jetpens.com/Pilot-FriXion-Ball-Knock-Retractable-Gel-Ink-Pen-0.5-mm-Blue-Black/pd/6798

- Zebra Sharbo LT3 - This multi pen stays with me everywhere I go. As a math teacher I need to have both a pencil and a pen with me at all times. This one gives clean crisp lines in a compact package. Plus, unlike most mechanical pencils, the feed tube on this retracts completely. http://www.jetpens.com/Zebra-Sharbo-X-LT3-Pen-Body-Component-Cobalt-Blue/pd/9828

- Lamy Safari EF - My first non-disposable fountain pen is my go-to grader. The extra fine nib allows me to write in corrections and comments even when the kids forget to skip lines. The inconspicuous colors don't attract sticky fingers and the low cost (as far as fountain pens go) won't turn me into a rage monster if the pen walks away from my desk.

http://www.jetpens.com/Lamy-Safari-Fountain-Pen-Extra-Fine-Nib-Charcoal-Black-Body-Black-Clip/pd/1937

Teachers, what are your go-to pens?

Thanks,

Mr. Gould

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Papermate

• BFGould

• orfew

• risingsun

Top Posters In This Topic

Very interesting... I recently retired after teaching 40 years. I have used all off the pens you listed, and agree that the Sharbo is excellent for classroom use. I substituted my Safari for a TWSBI XF Mini when the Mini came out, and am very happy with it. Uni-ball Jetstreams are great report and document pens.