nib for writing in Arabic?

skinnyPens

To borrow from Scratchy's question what would be the best nib for writing in Arabic?

I'm just learning the language and learning to write it. Somewhere I thought I had seen a nib described as 'for writing Arabic', but can't remember where or what. I'm not up to Arabic calligraphy of course. Just wondered if a certain nib would make my writing better.

Thanks!

I like skinny Pens.

no more pens for me (she says she says)

unless of course I see a Silver Stripe Pilot Capless come up for sale.

then all resolutions are out the window!

=

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• mattabrams2001

• skinnyPens

• OldGriz

• Robert Hughes

Brause makes a calligraphy nib, named the Hatat #100/01, listed as a nib designed for Hebrew and Arabic writing, and for left handers. I, being an overwriting left hander, and hence a "pusher", find the hatat to be less "scratchy" to write with than a fine point.

And of course, it being a dip pen nib, you can use a holder that's as skinny as you want. You could use coat hanger wire as a nib holder, if you so desired.

Edited by Robert Hughes

The moment we want to believe something, we suddenly see all the arguments for it, and become blind to the arguments against it.

~ Bernard Shaw.

Richard Binder makes a very nice Arabic nib that fits the Pelikan pens...

If you don't have a Pelikan, you can purchase one directly from Richard with that nib with no waiting for the nib to be ground....

I think that Richard Binder has shaped nibs specifically for writing arabic.

Arabic and Hebrew lettering tends to have wide horizontals and narrow verticals. Our western letters tend to be just the opposite. Essentially, a nib designed for Arabic and Hebrew is reverse of a western italic nib.