Estie - "bell System Property"

Slpederson

I'm new to Esties, so this may be old news to all of you. I picked up a few J models in a batch on Ebay, and the black one is embossed "BELL SYSTEM PROPERTY" (with the quotation marks), once there was white paint in the engraving but it has mostly worn off. Did the US phone company once issue Esterbrook J models as office pens? It seem that is what I have. I'll be interested to hear any history anyone knows, and how common these are currently.

post-121206-0-34264200-1431907231_thumb.jpg

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Tom Heath

• Chiro75

• Misfit

• gweimer1

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I don't know exactly how common, but I have an LJ that is a Bell System Propery "skunk".

Brad

"Words are, of course, the most powerful drug used by mankind" - Rudyard Kipling
"None of us can have as many virtues as the fountain-pen, or half its cussedness; but we can try." - Mark Twain

You can find the stamped on both J pens and desk set pens. There seem to be quite a lot of them but remember the Bell system was a huge monopoly but in the 50s and 60s.

Edited by bfg

They're quite common. I have a bunch of them for parts. I've seen them in SJ, J and transitional.

spacer.png
Visit Main Street Pens
A full service pen shop providing professional, thoughtful vintage pen repair...

Please use email, not a PM for repair and pen purchase inquiries.

I suspect that they were office/desk pens. I remember seeing an unsued

box of 10 for sale, on Ebay. They were all LJ size. The year would have

been 2012. If one of us won it, please humor my curiosity. How much ?

Auf freiem Grund mit freiem Volke stehn.
Zum Augenblicke dürft ich sagen:
Verweile doch, du bist so schön !

Fortunately the Bell System was broken up by Supreme Court Justice Black

I guess thank's to him was are no longer to possessors of stolen property of the Bell System