Parker Challenger

superfreeka

Up for review: 1939 Parker Challenger in Black and Grey Celluloid (4th Pen, at the bottom)

post-15925-1231307927_thumb.jpg

Background: I've been using this pen for a solid seven months now for classroom notes, signatures and general writing under just about every condition I think a pen may reasonably be made subject to. I'd like to note now that the construction of the pen is solid - really solid. Not weight-wise or anything to that effect; I mean the pen just oozes quality manufacturing.

First Impressions: I purchased the pen for $40 shipping included from a fellow member of the FPN. Its looks enthralled me, and when I found out that it was within the upper limits of my student budget, I simply had to have it. The pen initially arrived well-packaged and ready to write. I was impressed with the pen's appearance right from the get-go.

Score: 6/7

Disclaimer: I am not the kind of guy who likes thought and $ put into the packaging of a pen, so the lack of a true presentation experience did not hurt the score. This is just a personal preference.

post-15925-1231308994_thumb.jpg

Appearance and Design: Mottled white, gray and black celluloid comprise the body and cap of the pen. Silver accents adorn the clip and cap band. On my particular example, the plating has begun to show some moderate brassing, but this is to be expected on a 70 year old pen. The clip is very well done, with a fair sized metal ball on the end of the arm. The clip performs flawlessly - not too loose, not too tight, and most importantly, not at all wobbly. The word "PARKER" is stamped prominently on the face of the clip. The gripping section is plastic, and I'd imagine it would get slippery if it wasn't for the upward slant of the end of the section. This slant retards your hand from coming off the section and onto the nib.