Lamy 2000

goodyear

Just what we need, another review of the Lamy 2000. But I do believe you can never have too many perspectives on a pen, especially when you're thinking about buying one.

Images are links to much bigger (and heavier) files. Please excuse the fact that I'm not a product photographer. I really should buy a light tent...

I've had this pen and have been writing with it for a week and a half or so, long enough to form some solid first impressions.

http://www.marramgrass.org.uk/fpn/L2kR2_t.jpg

Appearance, Design & Finish. The pen has a sleek design, made of Makrolon and stainless steel (I presume). The materials have a brushed look that I find quite fetching, although it's not something I'd ordinarily go for. I found the pen to be quite light for its size - uncapped it is slightly longer than a Pelikan M200. I think it's a combination of shape and materials that add to my impression of a light pen.

I find it very comfortable to hold, and the much-discussed metal tabs the cap clicks onto (with a definite and secure action) don't bother me at all. Their placement puts them out of the way, and if you haven't seen the 2000 in person, you'll not believe how tiny they are after all the debate they've caused.

The clip is sprung. If you press on the blocky-shaped base of it, the end pivots out. It would be very easy to fit over a pocket this way, and I am confident it will grip well.

I don't post my caps, so can't comment effectively on that.

This is a pen that I can quite happily and comfortably write with for page after page.

http://www.marramgrass.org.uk/fpn/L2kR1_t.jpg

http://www.marramgrass.org.uk/fpn/L2kR4_t.jpg

(Size comparison with a Pelikan M205.)

Nib Design & Performance. The nib is semi-hooded behind stainless steel. It is 14ct gold, platinum plated, and very attractive.

http://www.marramgrass.org.uk/fpn/L2kR3_t.jpg