The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the FPN Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Conid(Bock) Titanium Nibs

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 markshan

markshan

NOS (New Old Stock)

• Member - Silver

• PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 05 April 2018 - 01:05

I'm thinking of getting a Conid Kingsize but I've never used a titanium nib before. How does it compare to the Visconti Palladium nibs? Do the tines scissor as described here ()? Is it possible to have it tuned to be a completely smooth nib? I believe Pen Habit and sbrebrown both commented on the feedback of the nib and I'm unsure if it's just the tuning of the nib, or if it's something to do with the material and tipping.

Worst case, I'll get the rhodium gold nibs .-.

Thanks

Sponsored Content

#2 Karmachanic

Karmachanic

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts

Posted 05 April 2018 - 06:19

Wishing you better luck than me!

http://www.fountainp...rind/?p=4033052

"Simplify and add Lightness"

"Want little. Need less. Love more."

#3 Kodiac136

Kodiac136

Rare

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 05 April 2018 - 19:56

Bock #8 titanium nibs are not particularly springy (unlike their #6 titanium nibs) and come with a characteristic feedback. Mine feels almost Sailor-like. I enjoy mine a lot but I understand why many people opt for the gold nib on their Kingsize. One day I may well get a gold nib for mine as well, but for now, I am enjoying the titanium.

As for how they compare to Visconti palladium nibs... they are more reliable, have more feedback, and have much less spring to them. I will say that mine came a bit dry for what I like, but it still wrote just fine. I tuned mine up, but I haven't smoothed it at all.

Conid for business, Yard-O-Led for pleasure.

#4 markshan

markshan

NOS (New Old Stock)

• Member - Silver

• PipPip