The Parker 25 - Icon Of The Future Or Poorly Designed Marketing Ploy?

P25B

Hi,

I know that future icons are never a sure thing, but I think the Parker 25 is one.

That's only my opinion though...

The Parker 25 -

• Designed and produced in the late 70's until around the late 90's
  • Simple aesthetics
  • Manufactured for 18-30 year olds (so, often used in schools by 13-17 year olds. Why? Because they were cool!)
  • Made to be durable
  • Various colours available
  • Available as a Fountain pen, Ballpoint, Fibre Tip, Rollerball and Pencil.

I have a small collection (as I'm pretty new to this and to forums, as you can see from my image... (sorry)), but am finding out more and more on the Parker 25. Mainly and with thanks to More Engineering website. It is well worth a visit if you want any further information on these lovely objects.

My thoughts are that, just as the Parker 51 was a writing instrument of it's time (and there is no argument from me on the quality of this design and the usability of the pen), the Parker 25 is also ready to take this mantle for the reason that there was very little in this price range with so much style, so different to the products on offer by other manufacturers. It seemed Parker were trying to introduce something with a little... panache, something to entice the generation who, by now, were so used to ballpoints, that fountain pens were only something used by their parents, or possibly worse, their grand parents!! Horrifying I know... (I'm not far off that age now!)

So, let me have your thoughts on the question below:

The Parker 25 - Icon of the future or poorly designed marketing ploy?

Image below is of my small collection of Parker 25's (annoyingly, some of the pens rolled over and are showing the sides, there are a couple of the 'breather hole' nibbed Mk1's (possibly Mk0.5) and mainly the 'no breather' nibbed Mk3's.