Tintenkuli (Rotring) 1928 Vintage And Modern Versions

piscov

Pen makers sometimes make re editions pens that I really like. This Rotring 1928 is one of those cases.

Recently I added one to my collection. It was launched in 1998, it is a limited edition and was produced by Visconti for Rotring to commemorate the 70 years of the brand.

rOtring was not named like that when it was founded in 1928 it was the Tintenkuli Handels GmbH but it become known by the name later on because of the red ring the pens had. "Rot Ring" is Red Ring in German.

The model launched in 1928 was named the Tintenkuli or simply Tiku. It become the standard for technical design and most old school engineers will remember using them to draw projects. Autocad in the late 80´s marked the start of the decline in its use, but rOtring still produces them today and calls them Rapidograph.

I have never used them professionally as I am a Autocad era engineer but still remember seeing them in use my university degree time. After sometime collecting pens I starting acquiring them and I have now a fairly extensive collection of the pre 1960 models. The most appealing models for me are the candy celluloid ones and yesterday I got the chance to buy the 1928 that is made of a looking like celluloid.

It looks great, it´s huge, feels great in the hand, it´s a Sheaffer's style plunger filler<_< instead of a piston like the old Tintenkulis, and the design is very appealing for me. On top of that the "new" 1928 comes with two writing tips a regular nib and the typical stylographic one.

Here are the pictures of the old style and the "new" 1928

Cheers

Vasco

http://i1330.photobucket.com/albums/w580/Vasco_Correia_Pisco/INGENIVM-PC/Rotring%201928/IMG_1311_zpsc381b466.jpg

http://i1330.photobucket.com/albums/w580/Vasco_Correia_Pisco/INGENIVM-PC/Rotring%201928/IMG_1310_zps834c169c.jpg

http://i1330.photobucket.com/albums/w580/Vasco_Correia_Pisco/INGENIVM-PC/Rotring%201928/IMG_1313_zpsb3a56910.jpg