The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Handwriting Arabic Script

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 antikva

antikva

NOS (New Old Stock)

• Member - Silver

• PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 08 June 2014 - 15:07

Hi!

A couple of weeks ago, I started learning Arabic and I'm almost done learning the alphabet. However, there's a couple of things I've never got my head around with the script, such as what height the letters should take and what slant. It confuses me that final د seems to take a different slant than ا, which seems to take a different slant than initial/medial ك for example.

Is there anywhere I can see exactly what proportions and slant the letters should have?

(I have more questions, but I'll start with this one.)

Sponsored Content

#2 Ghost Plane

Ghost Plane

Indescribable

• FPN Hon. Admin

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 26,881 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 08 June 2014 - 15:24

If you hunt further down in this forum, SMK has a thread full of How To videos. I think the thread was Learning to Write Arabic

#3 basterma

basterma

Collectors Item

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,029 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 08 June 2014 - 17:42

Do a search for "writing Arabic Calligraphy" on Youtube. I learned it when in Middle School and didn't write it long enough to acquire a decent handwriting, otherwise I'd help you out. My handwriting looks like that of a fifth grader... Good Luck with it. When you are more comfortable with it, look into taking courses at The American University in Cairo. They have a good (but pricey) programme at their Arabic Learning Institute.

#4 smk

smk

Antique

• FPN Tech. Admin

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,593 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 08 June 2014 - 18:35