Maison du Stylo gone!

bushellk

I am saddened to report that an old and respected pen store in Montreal has gone out of business. I went down to Maison du Stylo on Union Street in Montreal the other day and discovered that it had gone out of business. I'm sure there are others at FPN who know more about this store than me, but I know that it was a family business that had been around for generations. It began on Peel Street, across from McGill University, and later moved to its location on Union across from The Bay, just south of St. Catherine's Street. On its walls were black and white photographs of family and famous people who had frequented the shop over the many years. It was owned and run by the Culmer family who I think are still making pens. (I was told that a niece would be at the Toronto Pen Show, but I looked and didn't see her. I may have the details wrong here.)

I first came into contact with the Culmer family in London 20 years ago when I was a student at university. John ran Peel Pen Shop, and I bought several pens from him. He repaired my dad's Sheaffer Touchdown a couple of times, and serviced my Targa. When I left London, he gave me a bottle of Herbin ink as a gift, explaining that it was an ink that went back to King Louis XIV, the Sun King, and that the blue had a few drops of the royal colour purple in it, which gave it its distinctive purple-blue hue. That's the kind of family and business they had. John once said that no one was in it for the money but for the love of pens.

When I moved to Montreal I sought out Maison du Stylo and frequented that shop regularly. The last time I was in there Robert was excited because there were a few customers there who had some beautiful Parker 51s in their original cases.

Of course, there are other pen stores in Montreal, but few with the same passion for pens as Maison.

Feel free to correct me if I have the names and details wrong.

Kevin

Edited by bushellk

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply