The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the FPN Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Custom Orange Bands From Newton Pens

newton bands rings

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 quinden

quinden

Vintage

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 639 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 04 November 2013 - 04:07

I've been using this pen pretty continuously for several months now, and it deserves a review!  Without Further ado...my custom pen from Newton Pens:

fpn_1383536275__newton1_800x600.jpg

Appearance:

Shawn Newton made this pen for me, based on a (rough, rough) sketch I sent to him.  I was looking for a pen that was shaped somewhat like a German pen from the 30s with a domed top, but with some aesthetic considerations from Japanese pens, thrown in with some ideas from American vintage pens - specifically, the cool bands on some of the Conklin Enduras.  He hit a home run!  

fpn_1383537054__newton2_800x650.jpg

Construction:

The body is Cumberland ebonite, with orange ebonite bands, and looks shiny and fantastic.  I believe he joined the ebonite pieces by threading them and gluing them together, but the joints are seamless.

Weight and Dimensions

The pen is roughly the same length as a Duofold Centennial, but is much thicker (so roughly 5.3 inches in length or so, probably .6 inches in diameter.  The ebonite construction means the pen feels very light, but I would say it weighs more than my Nakayas - Shawn left the ebonite very thick.

Nib and Performance.

I went with a steel nib - Fine.  The nib has the Newton logo on it.  I am not sure if Shawn did a grind on this nib, or if he tuned it, but it's exactly how I like my nibs to be!  It's finer than most western/European fines I have used, and has the perfect amount of feedback. If I ever did want to change nibs, I believe it's a JoWo nib unit, which should be easy to screw out and swap in another #6 nib.