FP needed: OS, weighty, big grip, gold stub

David0966

Hello,

I am new to all this, and do love it-despite significant arthritis that has come on since my fondness for all things FP began.

I am acquiring a few oversize pens, already have a couple-the bigger, the better.

Weight is good also.

After spending a lot of time looking around, trying to get a grip on my choices, I'm asking my esteemed colleagues-you guys.

Am looking for an oversize, heavy FP, larger grip diameter, gold stub nib.  Filling system doesn't matter as much.  Ebonite is great (but light?)

Any ideas please?

Thanks, David

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• David0966

• XYZZY

• Chimera01

• Penguincollector

Heavy fountain pens were recently discussed here:

Large grip diameter is not my thing, so I don't keep an eye on what's available, but there are others who have been interested in them piping up before; so perhaps do a forum search for “fat grip” or some such.

As for gold stub nib, I think that will further limit your search space, because that likely at least confines it to models with interchangeable nibs so that you can swap a stub nib into the pen after initial purchase.

I do have a feeling that one of the mega expensive Montblanc limited editions in the Meisterstück 149 form factor may suit, so perhaps have a look in the Montblanc forum on FPN as well?

I endeavour to be frank and truthful in what I write, show or otherwise present, when I relate my first-hand experiences that are not independently verifiable; and link to third-party content where I can, when I make a claim or refute a statement of fact in a thread. If there is something you can verify for yourself, I entreat you to do so, and judge for yourself what is right, correct, and valid. I may be wrong, and my position or say-so is no more authoritative and carries no more weight than anyone else's here.