What format do you use in your personal letters? What do you include? Ideas? Tips?

kealani

Format, length? what's included, style, etc:

I try my best to make each letter a personal experience for the reader by trying to reciprocate their level of sharing and "engagement" (IE: responding an 8 page personalized letter with a 100 word "great weather" missive seems poor).

I also almost always include various photographs (I am a photographer) and inserts from things of shared interest that I might find or compose myself on various subjects.

As far as format, Palmer Business Script with a favorite fountain pen, or. . . a vintage typewriter if my hands and fingers (arthritis) make my handwriting hard to read.

For example: I might have 1 page or a partial with my "best effort" at script, then mixed interesting type fonts after that to make it interesting.

Your Turn:

What format do you use for personal letters? (style, feel, content, etc)

What do you include or enclose with your letters?

Any ideas and tips?

Thanks for sharing.

Aloha.

http://111-A7083-5-E20-4335-8375-EFEA289-AF2-DF

• 2 months later...
  • Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• kealani

• TSherbs

• BHuij

• David0966

I keep an A4 pad and an A5 pad of nice paper handy. Nothing terrifically fancy, just completely blank white Rhodia (although I'm about to try Clairfontaine Triomphe and if I like it, I might standardize around that instead). The A5 is perfect for short letters. The A4 is good for longer letters, or shorter letters if I feel like using a broad or stub nib that necessitates using larger handwriting. I have a guide under the page to keep my lines straight.

I always put the date at the top, and then just write.