Struggling with my technical pen

klane4573

Hello all! I'm an artist who works primarily with pen and ink. After doing some research, I recently bought a Staedtler MarsMatic 700 set. I don't know if its the pen or if its something I'm doing wrong, but the ink flow from these pens is pretty 50/50. One second it'll be fine, the next it'll write but instead of being black (like it should write) it only dispenses some ink so it turns out gray. Or, it'll stop writing completely for a line or two which then forces me to go back over the drawing area. I'm using the staedtler marsmatic black ink that came with the set of pens. Usually, if I give the pen a good few shakes it'll start working again, but I'm having to do this every few seconds while I'm drawing and it's pretty annoying. Is it the pens themselves? Or the ink? Any advice or tips would be great. 

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• dipper

• Zookie

• Mech-for-i

• klane4573

Top Posters In This Topic

Did you clean it well before use? Even if new, it could have some manufacturing residue in the ink chamber.

10 hours ago, klane4573 said:

Is it the pens themselves?

Yes! Technical pens are inherently prone to ink flow problems.

Great tools when they work well. Unique in the line quality they can give. But things can go wrong so easily...

Used on "drafting film" the metal tube tip can slide cleanly over the hard film. Used on other papers there is some risk that fibres become lifted from the paper and clog the tip.