Ranga Giant 9B Fountain Pen : My First Big Pen

Matthew TWP

_DSC9401.thumb.jpg.a43ffb3b5341f10d8672c6f9f2e168aa.jpg

This is my first time posting outside of the "ink" forums on this site, so if there's a better place for this, just let me know. This isn't exactly a review... I'm just sharing my excitement.

_DSC9384.thumb.jpg.4e2028936c73ff65cb906ecc262d4da7.jpg

I bought this pen in a "group buy" via the Ranga facebook page, but I don't think it was any less expensive than just buying it from their site ($69, plus shipping). In any case, this is one of their standard acrylics, and I LOVE it: beautiful depth and color on two sides, nearly black on the other two. I'll post a video someday that shows that better.

_DSC9392.thumb.jpg.4fd4d015a311739044206a242c398f60.jpg

_DSC9395.thumb.jpg.f9b98898279d1819c2f561342073e3e0.jpg

_DSC9400.thumb.jpg.a675da1168d01a64e2d0c383817bd9f3.jpg

The threads for the cap have a couple of starts, so when you cap it, the shiny side of the cap can either be aligned with that of the body or not. The cap twists off in about 3/4 of a turn. The pen is a cartridge converter but could be made into an eyedropper I imagine. The cap does post, but not very deeply and the cap is so heavy you'd be crazy to do it.

_DSC9399.thumb.jpg.780597ec1d7a3baace3589221b4b198c.jpg

I got a broad nib, and it's perfect... no problems there. I inked up the pen with TWSBI Midnight Blue. The nib is a Bock broad, and it's polished just how I like it; nice and smooth but not glassy. Flow is on the wet side of average. A 7 on a scale with 10 being quite wet.

_DSC9397.thumb.jpg.b64c73564f17274889b73fa6a1acfc32.jpg

For a big pen, this actually feels very normal in my hand. I was expecting it to feel chunky, but I guess since the grip section is normal sized, it just feels normal... and the weight is no problem at all. Probably weighs less than some of my metal pens.