My TWSBI Eco pen flow becomes dry after writing a few pages.

neo4evr

Hello,

I have a TWSBI Eco Pen (Fine nib) that I have been using for 3 years now.

I face a strange problem. The pen writes smoothly for a few pages, maybe 4 or 5 pages of A5 paper.

After that, the ink flow starts to get drier and the writing becomes very light.

When I pause writing for a few minutes, then the pen starts to write fine again. But the ink flow again starts to get lighter after a few pages.

I have tried to flush the pen thoroughly with water, reassemble all the components inluding the nib. But this problem is still happening.

Is this normal thing to happen with fountain pens?
Note: I use Parker Quink black ink and Pelikan brilliant black ink.

Your help is much appreciated.

Thanks!

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• MidSouthern-Dad

• sirgilbert357

• neo4evr

• Recursion

I must say I never had this issue with my TWSBI Eco extra fine. But this might indicate a slightly clogged feed. When I clean out my pen I brush all the channels of the feed with a soft toothbrush. I hope this helps. 

1 hour ago, Recursion said:

I must say I never had this issue with my TWSBI Eco extra fine. But this might indicate a slightly clogged feed. When I clean out my pen I brush all the channels of the feed with a soft toothbrush. I hope this helps. 

I will try this method. Thank you so much!

• 3 weeks later...

I am also having a problem with my new TWSBI Eco EF nib. At first, the nib wasn't seated far enough into the section for the pin at the top of the feed to be secure in the clear plastic pinhole in the section (I could see the entire "EF" engraved on the nib, and since learned that a proper position for Eco nibs does obscure the size somewhat.) But now I'm writing four or five paragraphs before the flow just stops. Stops dead. I prime the feed and keep going, but that's not the TWSBI I know from my experience with a medium nib, so I'm puzzled.