Definitely an unusual Namiki!

Licensedtoquill

I suppose I have been collecting Namiki pens for a few decades and I have certainly never come across this before. I sent some pictures to Pilot in Tokio and they had no idea either.

It has a section split into two parts for no apparent reason. The section is blanked off for no apparent reason so that no feed seems to be made for it? The rear part of the two-part section has a cork seal which doesn't seem to do anything.   There is also an extremely complex rear-of-the section part which may resemble the Parker Lucky Curve, which also doesn't seem to do anything in a system with this blanked--off section.

Even if the pen is designed for insertion of a quill (instead of a nib) to write Kanji characters, there should be some method in a pen which obviously has a reservoir for feeding ink from the reservoir to the nib? (I have had 1920s Namiki dipping pens which came in a desk set with the ink well. They had a blanked off section but no mechanical parts in the ink 'chamber' which, of course, fed nothing to the nib)

I was wondering if Namiki has any record of ever experimenting with the Penner or the 1832 Parker patent shown on page 11 of my first book*. In that completely-forgotten design, there is no feed and no air-based method of feeding ink to the nib. Instead they used a kinda blanked off section but with a piece of cotton thread which went from the reservoir to the nib. (I am pretty  sure nobody used it after 1832, - especially after the air-based Watermans/Mabie Todd/Wirt feed was invented in the 1870s/80s) But as I said, the shtum out of Tokio was overwhelming!

Come on pen community. Someone try to give a crack at what on earth this is?

20210910_142408_resized.jpg

20210910_142449_resized.jpg

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Licensedtoquill

• liubrian

• awa54

• stan

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Who are you and what is your 'my first book'?