If you could have only 1 pen what would it be and why?

K.Grant

I know it’s a very subjective question, but what would be your “THERE CAN ONLY BE ONE” pen?

Hello vastly knowing Fountain Pen People! I’m a writer belatedly celebrating my first book deal and wanted to get a “fancy” fountain pen, but as one uninitiated into the realms of FP experts, I’ve spent a few weeks reading through the forum and watching a gazillion review videos. I am left more confused then ever - so many options. so I thought I’d ask the experts. 

if you had up to 1.5k USD to spend on a modern pen, and it was your only FP, what would you get (and why)? 

I’m Looking for a wonderful writing experience - the best I can get for my budget. I’m not sure where I stand on buttery smoothness, bounce, gold or steel nibs, flex, or flow since I’ve only ever used run of the mill high street fountain pens. That said I do like the sound of gold-nibbed, very flex, line variation, buttery smoothness but that is my conceptual understanding rather than down to experience

I would be using the pen every day for an hour or more’s writing. I don’t do calligraphy at all, just ‘everyday’ writing, I use Tomoe river paper and would probably go for an F or M nib. I’m a female with slim average sized hands, with mild fibromyalgia flares, so comfort is important, as is weight. 

Looks-wise I am partial to plainer, classic looks, but also fond of brown tortoiseshell (I was so sad the Conklin all american had such bad reviews) like the Platinum Celluloid or Briarwood-ish styles. 

I’m also of the mind that I’d rather get a fantastic pen from the start even if it’s more expensive, then work my way up to a fancy pen - it just seems more practical. That said, I don’t assume that more expensive means a better pen. I’d as happily consider pens in lower price points.