Carolartist

Hello

I am trying to research permanent and waterproof inks for fountain pens.

I am an artist and I am on a quest for the past three years to find the perfect brown to lay OVER watercolor paintings. Not ink first than watercolor. Watercolor first then ink.

My goal is to match the hue of the India ink I used in rapidographs Higgins Brown. Yes I know, not to use India ink in fountain pens.

Noodler’s Walnut, DeAtramentis Document Brown, Noodlers Black, Platinum Carbon Black are all too dark.

I’ve given up and I’m now using Birmingham Pen Co Soft Pretzel because it’s the brown I want - but it’s not lightfast or waterproof. I have to immediately place the finished work in plastic and in a box. Not good to display ever. 

Questions 

1. Will DeAtramentis Dilution ink work to lighten an inks hue?

2. Am I limited to just DeAtrementis Document inks or can I use it on Noodlers, Diamine, Birmingham inks as well?

3. Any advise?

samples attached

A49504D7-2EA1-4249-A010-3050BA48F4E4.png

1E3E4FD9-185A-42DC-8376-2F6101307440.jpeg

973DD900-1CE6-449E-92F0-69277FEF2990.jpeg

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• amberleadavis

• LizEF

• Carolartist

• yazeh

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Noodler's has several bulletproof browns. Check them up.

I use Polar Brown. It might stain demonstrators. 

Here's a sample writing I did for someone else: 

345501466_POlarbrown.thumb.jpeg.1294deda604a0ed79c2ed524b180c2d3.jpeg

Roherer and Klingner Sketchink have  several lightproof/waterproof browns too. Lily and Thea might be up your alley...

They also have a DOKUMENTUS range.

You should only use DeAtramentis dilution fluid with document inks or other inks that can't be diluted with water. Dilute Birmingham or other dye based inks with water.

I think the ink question's been very well answered - but can I just say how much I like the picture!!