Hira maki-e versus screened maki-e

I thought it might be interesting to start a thread on differentiating (in a practical way) between Hira maki-e and "screened" maki-e; something I have no experience with. I only have two maki-e pens and would like to find out if any of them actually has any Hira maki-e as opposed to being silk screen entirely. I am aware the latter is probably the case since both pens were "budget" pens in their day. Here are some close-up shots (apologies for the dark shadows). I don't find it easy to single out discerning elements, any comments (or further examples) would be very much appreciated!

- Platinum #3776 Tsubaki (Camellia), Lambrou's Japan book (p. 304) ca. 1982

- Pilot FK Balanced Ume (plum) (FK-3MP-UM); supposedly Kokkokai artists (?), early 1990s (?)

The Platinum looks like ebonite. The Pilot is resin I believe.

IMGP0211-bew-web.thumb.jpg.c148bb3017da6ba04b6fbf49011e2db3.jpg

IMGP0208-bew-web.thumb.jpg.24ab28355fc2c7f597452a5bc952d2cc.jpg

IMGP0207-bew-web.thumb.jpg.82b5803a2dc6bc889aa1373d5e097177.jpg

IMGP0203-bew-web.thumb.jpg.0798317a8b7285d7184c4d5827387755.jpg

IMGP0205-bew-web.thumb.jpg.f14b7200b9854d14ea1d5694d8159c1b.jpg

IMGP0181-bew-web.thumb.jpg.73bf089238f68827e51dda5c4e9afccc.jpg

IMGP0182-bew-web.thumb.jpg.3c242348cad5344525fde5be664bfe5a.jpg

• Replies 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• fcarbon

• stan

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

The catalogue notes the Platinum model to be makie as opposed to some other models termed aizu-makie and kaga-makie. Aizu- and Kaga-makie refer to techniques of makie in those prefectures.