Curious About The Platinum 3776 Century's Nib, But...

Enkida

... I've never tried a Platinum pen before, and am wondering if I should invest in a cheaper pen first to see if I like their nibs. (Something like a Plaisir). Easily available to me here are the Preppy, Plaisir, Procyon, and Century. I'm 100% not interested in a Preppy (don't like the aesthetic), and I find the Procyon to be too expensive for "just testing" to see if I like the way they finish their nibs - I'd just go ahead and get the Century in that case.

I'm interested in the 3776 Century precisely because I want to see how their gold nibs write (in an M width), so I'm not sure how much benefit I would get from testing Platinum's steel nibs. Then again, in my robust collection of mostly mid-range fountain pens, I don't own a single Platinum. I have been wanting to branch into gold nibbed pens just out of curiosity, and to that effect I bought myself a very nice Lamy 2k (F) an was gifted a nice small vintage Pilot in pink and silver with painted flowers, with a gold nib "14k585" nib (F) which I do enjoy, but find to be uncomfortable to hold for longer writing sessions due to the small, thin size, as well as having just a touch too much feedback for my taste.

Should I ignore the Plaisir and go straight for the Century? Or is the nib on the Plaisir representative of what I might find on the Century as well, in terms of feedback, smoothness, hardness, etc? Any advice appreciated. I have enough pens I like that "hey, it's a good bargain" is no longer reason enough to buy a pen, but spending over 100€ on a pen I might not even like in the end is still a bit rich for my blood.

sig2.jpgsig1.jpg

Events may be horrible or inescapable. Men always have a choice - if not whether, then how they endure.

- Lois McMaster Bujold

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Enkida

• A Smug Dill

• KyleClapton

• Time-Traveller