Am I The Only One Who Thinks There Is Too Much Hype Around Japase Pens?

Larrabeiti

Hello FP lovers,

I do not know if "Japan and Asia" is the best section to post this and make new friends, but here it goes.

I have been collecting pens for over 20 years, but I only started reading extensively about them on the internet 5 or 6 years ago. So in the past I used to collect Sheaffers (mostly), Parkers etc. I buy most of my pens second hand.

When I started reading so much praise on Japanese pens, I decided I had to buy some to try. Except for the Platinum #3776, my experience resumes in one word: Disappointment.

It is even worse because there are not many second hand Japanese pens in Spain and most of them were new.

Pens I have bought:

Pilot Capless - heavy, unbalance, clip between my fingers, not practical to fill... A horror of a pen. I gave it to a friend who really liked it a lot.

Pilot 74 - there was really nothing wrong with its fucntionality, but nothing outstanding either. And it is so damn ugly! When you make such a conventional design, at least it should not be unpleasant.

Pilot CH 912 FA nib. I keep this one because I only have two Flex nibs, but the plastic looks cheap. However, it is comfortable in the hand and smoother than other flex.

Sailor 1911 standard. Not that it is very small, but the heavy taper of the barrell made it sit uncomfortably in my hand. I never liked it, I sold it quickly.

Sailor 1911 large yellow. I still keep it because I have not tried it yet... But as the 912, the plastic looks surpisingly cheap for a pen of this price.

I also have two Sailor Maki-e that I bought 2nd hand at a great price. I have not used them nor I intend to. But they do not look in the flesh so gorgeous ans in the photographs.

I also have, and like a lot, two Platinum #3776. Soon after the 1st one, I bought the second.