Absolute Beginner - Where Do I Invest My Money To Learn This Stuff?

thesmellofdustafterrain

I went to the local art supply shop and picked up a couple of speedball holders (one oblique and one traditional) and some pointy nibs with numbers on them like this: 56, 99, 101, & 103. Basically, I bought one of every pointy nib they had in hopes that one of them would be correct for learning. I also bought a small bottle of Winsor and Newton ink which I've been alternating with my dregs bottle of fountain pen ink. I have some scrap paper I've been practising on.

I probably have two to three more weeks of attention span for learning this skill if I don't show any aptitude for it. If I start to make progress, then my attention span will swell as positive reinforcement pours into it.

Basically, I don't want to spend a lot more money at this stage. I've I'm still going strong at the end of March, then I'll invest more, but there is a bit of cash left for buying supplies. Where do I spend it for the best effect?

The goal: to learn Spencerian and when I'm happy with that (maybe a year), to learn copperplate. I want to be good at it with a fountain pen, but the more I read on this site, the more I want to try it with a dip pen because it looks like fun.

The secondary goal: to improve my penmanship overall by forcing myself to observe and evaluate how I use a pen and to slow down when writing so that maybe I can write legibly.

I started with scratching on some blank paper and eventually downloaded some drills. It's interesting and I'm showing some improvement day to day. But I don't know if it's me or if I've chosen the wrong nibs or paper. I feel like the flex is very strong with these nibs.

thumb-calligraphy-drills-for-dip-pen-day

thumb-learning-dip-pen-day-three.jpg

That's day one and day three. A long way to go, but a better start than I expected.

The question: Is there something I can buy that will make learning this much easier?