Franklin Christoph – Spanish Blue

crahptacular

Franklin Christoph – Spanish Blue

Of all the Franklin Christoph inks I’ve used, this is the only one I’d call a cheerful color, and I’m glad they have at least one of these happier inks amongst their line of solemn and serious options. I’ve been using this ink in eyedropper for the past four months or so, and have been very happy with its behavior (that pen gets used almost exclusively with terrible copy paper). The ink has rarely feathered and is a good color for marking up documents, as it’s bright enough to catch the eye, but still easy to read. It also looks great in a demonstrator.

Spanish Blue is a nice, moderately light sky blue. It’s not pale (see Kobe #42, the first comparison ink, which I think many would call pale), but it’s not intensely-saturated like Sailor Souten (fourth comparison ink). There is more green in it than red, which can be seen in the doodle; the washes take on a turquoise tone. In writing, though, I would still call this a blue and not a turquoise—more green than Kon-Peki, but less green than Edelstein Topaz. (I don’t have Ama-Iro, but based on images I’d imagine them to be pretty close). I’m generally into more depressing colors, but this color makes me smile :). Depending on pen and paper, it’s just light enough that you can sometimes observe haloing, which I’m a big fan of. It also shades enough to add some variety, but not so much as to distract (my opinion, of course). All in all, I think it’s difficult for blue inks to really stand out, and there are certainly other colors which are similar to this one, but at the very least this could be in consideration as an affordable alternative to the premium prices of Edelstein or Iroshizuku. It's not the same color as either of those, but equally enjoyable in my opinion.