Sheaffer Snorkel Clicking Sound

SilverPearlVacumatic

Greetings everyone,

I have a recently serviced Sheaffer Snorkel, but it does not make the distinctive click sound after extending the snorkel. And after I fill it, it does not allow me to retract the snorkel, the threads do not engage and I cannot rotate the blind-cap. Only then, when I start to pull the touch down tube out again, do I hear a very distinctive click sound. Sometimes, the snorkel extends a bit further.

I am not experienced with fountain pen repair. Does anyone have advice? Is this a common problem?

Also, I think the spring is grinding away the inside of the barrel. Is this normal?

Thanks

Edited by SilverPearlVacumatic

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• SilverPearlVacumatic

• fountainbel

• Ron Z

• Brian-McQueen

I expect the spring is not properly seated/centered over its seat ring on the ink sac housing.

This triggers friction of the spring against the inner barrel wall

Note the seat ring screws over the sac housing and should sit completely down, at the end of the threads.

The spring is prone to rust formation when the pen has leaked and should be cleaned upfront .

Also clean the barrel internally

Francis

Thanks Francis,

The pen appears to be third generation, but with a gold snorkel.

I manually turned the seat-ring-nut-whatever-it-is-called to the bottom of the threads before I last assembled it. This is how it appears when taken apart again, after having the problems described above (see attached photo). The spring wedges tightly into the ring. It does not move freely.

Any advice?

Thanks

post-122311-0-13987700-1487882635_thumb.jpg

The ring that the spring seats into will sometimes slide up the threads on the sac protector, as you can see on your pen. It should be ALL the way down to the end of the threads, as far as it will go. If you get it back down there, try flipping the spring around and reassembling.