Bb Nibs Or Speciality Nibs?

JMTB

Advice needed! I enjoy a broad nib on my everyday use pens. In fact, I'd like something broader. I've been considering the Pelikan M800 BB nibs, Visconti Homo Sapiens BB nibs, Pelikan M1000 B as the next step. I've also become very intrigued with the Sailor speciality nibs. The King Eagle looks like great fun but very hard to get hold of and very expensive (and possibly too broad - I've seen some interesting writing samples on this forum). I've tracked down a Cross Point emperor nib on a Sailor 1911 which looks like it offers a great broad line (as well as line variation). I should also say I've no experience with italic or stubb nibs. I enjoy a wet, smooth writer.

I'm looking for options / advice on what pens / nibs forum members would recommend. So what's the best broader (very broad) pen/nib?

Some constraints to help guide discussion (appreciate this may frustrate some members):

- Large pens preferred but the nib is key

- Budget up to £700/ $1000

- Not really looking to work on the nib / install in a pen - should (in an ideal world) work out of the box.

- Options should be fairly easily sourced online

Aprreciate any guidance from the well informed and experienced members of this forum. Thanks in advance.

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Ghost Plane

• JMTB

• Bo Bo Olson

• Buzz_130

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

If you goal is a broad nib and the body of the pen is secondary, you may have some options well below your budget.

Look at the stub nibs from Franklin Cristoph, music nibs from the Japanese manufacturers, or even a stub TWSBI. You can get 1.1mm, 1.5mm, or even 1.9mm stubs from many of these places.

If you are looking for a particular grind on the nib for line variation (without needing flex), then you can get them in italic or cursive italic.

Buzz