Montblanc Legrand 146; Real Or Fake?

BarneyTheOwl

Dear members,

First of all I want to introduce myself. I am a medical student who is almost graduating. For some time now I am exploring the wonderful world of fountainpens and since my tutor has expanded his collection with a beautiful Montblanc Etoile fountainpen, I have fallen in love with the Montblanc series and the way they write. I decided to have a look on the internet for an affordable, secondhand Montblanc fountainpen.
Yesterday I saw a nice 146 LeGrand model online for sale.
The advertisement says it’s a vintage model, dated around the 1990’s. Apparently it has a singed 'W. Germany' on the top. Unfortunately no box or receipts are included. As non-expierenced as I am, it is hard for me to check/verify whether this pen is real or fake
I included some pictures the seller sent me and would like to ask you if you could say anything about the authenticity. The price is 150 euro’s. If it is a genuine one and worth the price, I consider buying it :)
Many thanks in advance and looking forward to your comments!
Greetings from Holland.

post-130329-0-95793100-1465078555.jpg

post-130329-0-60540800-1465078565.jpg

post-130329-0-40666600-1465078598.jpg

post-130329-0-00167200-1465078923_thumb.jpg

Edited by BarneyTheOwl

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• BarneyTheOwl

• CS388

• Erik Dalton

• Scribblesoften

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

If it is a 146 it should be a piston fill pen. If it is cartridge/converter it is a fake. So, that is the first question to ask.

The fourth picture shows an ink window so I think it's safe to say it is a piston fill. You can also call Montblanc and have them run the serial number of the pen to confirm is authenticity.

Ask more questions. Was the pen repaired by Montblanc? The ink window says older pen but the serial number on the clip says after 1992. Was the clip replaced?

My Website

Welcome to FPN