New Pelikan M120 Se Comparisons

The Good Captain

I know there has been a lot of discussion and speculation about the recent/new Pelikan SE M120. Controversy seems to revolve around the price tag of this pen and the relative lower costs of one of the 'originals' from the original release in the 50s. Well, be that as it may. This new pen is not a re-release of that beloved classic: it's a re-designed 'classic' in its own right. And in case you're asking, I paid for mine...

Got it on Friday and I apologise for the awful quality of the following pics as although I trained as a professional photographer, I never had to deal with the minutiae of close-up stuff. Just the humdrum of magazines, photojournalism and so on. Not pens! so, bear with me.

Firstly, the new M120 is larger than the old one - assuming that the M140 I have by way of comparison, was/is the same size as the original M120. It is larger! The following two pics show a few comparisons but were taken with a camera where the distortion doesn't quite take care of the perspective.

fpn_1462056263__m120_comparisons_capped.

L to R: M101N Red Tortoise; M100N; M140; M205; new M120 and finally M600.

Then some of the above, un-capped.

fpn_1462098541__m120_comparisons_uncappe

L to R: M140; M205 and new M120.

I know it's not so clear as explained but the new M120 has virtually the same barrel and section size as the M200/400 pens. Grest to use un-posted!

Finally, a series of the relevant ones, against a ruler - the previous pics were taken on 5mm squared paper.

fpn_1462098599__m140_measured.jpg

M140 measured capped

fpn_1462098608__m140_uncapped_measured.j

M140 measured un-capped

fpn_1462098635__m400_measured.jpg

M400 measured capped

fpn_1462098650__m400_uncapped_measured.j

M400 measured un-capped

And finally:

fpn_1462098570__new_m120_measured.jpg

New M120 measured capped

fpn_1462098583__new_m120_uncapped_measur

New M120 measured un-capped