Well I Guess I Am Not Good At Nib Smoothing..

gamingoodz

I just recently got into fountain pens so the only pens I have are a Pilot Metropolitan with a Medium nib and a Jinhao x450.

I just bought a Goulet nib for the x450 because I wanted a fine nib on that pen..

Well dumb me also bought some 12000 micro mesh with the order which turned out to be a bad idea..

Even thou the nibs on both my pens the Pilot and the goulet nib were smooth I wanted them smoother.. So i decided to try to smooth them myself.. I quickly realized that I made a mistake after smoothing both pens just a tiny bit I had somehow made them both worse than they originally were..I didn't think that 12000 micro mesh would do much at all guess I was wrong..

So I've been trying to get them back to being atleast as smooth as they were but they are scratchy now like the edges of the tines are too sharp but I am afraid to wear too much tipping material away do anything else to them. I've gotten them decent but they are scratchy now when you go on diagonals.

I know that a $15 Goulet nib and $15 metropolitan doesn't sound like much but I just went back to school at 30 and haven't been able to work so that $15 Goulet nib and metropolitan were like high end Mont Blanc pens to me since I'm broke lol.

Argh so now I'm depressed and mad at myself for even fooling with the nibs.

Anyone have any idea on how to smooth the edges between the tines so they are not scratchy without taking off anymore tipping material.

Also does anyone have any experience with FPR #35 nibs vs Knox #6 K35 nibs vs Nemosine #6 nibs vs Goulet #6 nibs ? I want to buy some more nibs preferably Goulet nibs but at $15 a piece they are like 4 times the cost of my Jinhao even though they are pretty great nibs it seems.

Thanks!

Edited by gamingoodz
The first step toward change is awareness. The second step is acceptance.

Nathaniel Branden

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• gamingoodz

• dcwaites