Hello! And A Tragic Story Of Lost Pens

AmesCG

Hi all! I opened this account in 2013, but I've never used it. I figure it's time to fix that. Anyways, I'm a lawyer in the New York area, have been using fountain pens since high school, and post every now and again on the /r/fountainpens subreddit. My current favorite pen is a Sailor Starburst Galaxy with a music nib.

I also still hold out hope that my previous favorite -- a Visconti Homo Sapiens, 25th Anniversary Edition -- will be returned to me some day. It disappeared from my bag while I was on public transit one morning. Maybe it was stolen? Maybe it fell out of my bag? I haven't decided. Both seem unlikely. In any event, part of my reason for posting now is a long-shot hope that one of you found it and have been holding it faithfully for just such an occassion. Fingers crossed, and here's a link to an announcement I made about it on Reddit. To make matters worse, it was in a black leather case when it was lost.... with a brand new Pelikan Cafe Creme. Heavy sigh.

Either way, glad to join the group! I have been reading your ink reviews and pen repair tips for years, and hope to contribute my own as I learn. I just started teaching myself to restore Vacumatics, so I hope there will be some success stories to post soon!

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• AmesCG

• robert1962

• Notgatherox

• northstar

Hello and welcome to FPN.

Recite, and your Lord is the most Generous  Who taught by the pen

Taught man that which he knew not (96/3-5)

Snailmail3.png Snail Mail 

Hello! :W2FPN:

I hope you'll enjoy yourself here!

About lost pens - I lost four couple of months back (Pelikan M400 Brown Tortoise, Lamy 2000, Danitrio Cum Laude and TWSBI Diamond 580), so I feel your pain. I've kinda all but lost hope that I'll ever see them again, but I comfort myself with the fact that out with the old, in with the new.

~Epic