Please Recommend Me A Fine And Lightweight Fountain Pen.

JoeB

Hi,

I am looking to get a daily use pen. I want a pen which is lightweight and writes fine and smooth (preferably high ink capacity and nib dries slowly). I am a graduate student and will use the pen to write a lot of math symbols/proofs mostly on HP laserjet 24lb papers for long time.

I have Pilot Decimo F, Lamy 2000 EF and Metropolitan F. I use VP when I take notes in class since it is retractable, but when I need to write for long time, I cannot use it since it is kind of heavy for me.

Thus, I have recently bought Lamy 2000 EF for long time writing. I like the weight and the size of Lamy 2000, but it writes too thick for me even though it has extra fine nib. This one writes thicker than Decimo Fine.

I really like the smoothness of Decimo. I think it is smoother than Lamy 2000 EF and Metropolitan F. The only problem I have with it is the weight. I think I like Japanese fine size nib (not sure about other brands since I only have two Pilot pens). Can anyone recommend me some good pen for me under $150? (I prefer no vintage pen)

Thanks,

Edited by JoeB

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• JoeB

• Erik Dalton

• Algester

• subbu68

If you like Pilot pens, have you considered the Custom Heritage 92? Piston-filler demonstrator. Holds about 1.5ml. Weighs 25grams. Has a Pilot #5 14k nib and obviously you know you like the Fine nibs from this maker. The nib is slightly springy. Can be bought for around $100, or less.