Ruth Feiertag

Perhaps it was inevitable. Both my mother and grandmother are/were not merely fountain-pen users but also fanciers. I guess it's a genetic trait, and I therefore cannot be held accountable for accumulating lovely and functional dispensers of ink.

I read about the FPN on one of the Discussion lists for the annual Month of Letters (http://lettermo.com) challenge. It's taken me a while to join for reasons I can't explain — I couldnt get the sign-up form to work until recently — but I'm happy to have finally figured out how to open the gate.

Below is the old Sheaffer I used to write all my undergraduate papers. Eventually I graduated from college and to other pens, but none have I ever loved more than this first one.
post-123860-0-50922000-1437882406_thumb.jpg

And here, from left to right, are some of my other pens: First, an old, cheap, plastic A&W Sizzlestix whose provenance I do not recall even vaguely but which still works unfailingly. Next, two Schaeffers nicer than the one I used in college, also many years' writing companions.The black pen is a Platinum with a music nib, just in case someday I am struck by Euterpe and need to start writing orchestral scores of Gregorian chants.
post-123860-0-65093200-1437882431_thumb.jpg

The red Romea and Juliet pen (a gift from my mother) has a fusion nib. The top unscrews to reveal a pair of hearts. I keep meaning to replace them with an emergency anti-histamine — not as romantic, but for my purposes, much more practical. Mom gave it to me to take to conferences on Medieval Literature.

After the Pelikan are a Sailor, a Pilot Prera (one of my least favourite pens; it has an unresponsive, slightly scratchy nib), and a Lamy Vista. The Lamy works beautifully and I love the way I can change the nibs when I want a different line.