Nakaya Urushi Deterioration / Bubbling On Pen Section ?

NathanG

Hi everyone !

I'm quite new to the world of Nakaya as I only got mine a few weeks ago, as a present for my 20th birthday. I got it in Green Urushi (Midori) in the Long Cigar model with a F nib.

The thing is, I'm quite alarmed as of today, when, upon closer inspection, I noticed some slight bubbling on the urushi of the section, where one holds the pen while writing.

It has spread around the section, and, though not noticeable when writing, it is definitely visible upon close inspection (Without a loupe that is.)

I'm worried that, as I have very sweaty palms, the fact that I'm not cleaning the section after using the pen, the residual sweat might affect the pen whilst sitting tightly in its kimono. (The heat might be causing it ?...)

Have you guys ever witnessed such developpments to your Nakayas ? If so have you discovered a way to stop this from happening ?

As a disclaimer, I'm carrying my pen in its kimono with me on a daily basis and have not dipped it in any liquid other than ink.

Thank you guys for your help, I'm really worried é..è !!!

• Replies 49
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• fountainpagan

• MartinPauli

• hooper

• Globalnomad

Did you buy the pen new?

I have come across this phenomenon on a used Nakaya once before, and my guess was that someone used too much heat trying to either remove the feed or to reset the nib...

:-{

Thanks a lot for the welcome ^^'

And to answer your question Pendel, I had that pen custom made through Mora Stylos in Paris, and waited since March of this year to get it.

As for the pictures I tried to capture it as best as I could, those really are tiny bubbles, but I can swear they weren't there when I received the pen.

post-103022-0-12340600-1436894995.jpg

post-103022-0-26716700-1436895009.jpg

post-103022-0-92815700-1436895023.jpg