Really Jazzed About Cane Fields Sugar Cane Legal Pads

Maurizio

In a nutshell: quite good and inexpensive.

As a lawyer I do a lot a writing on legal pads. I take pleasure in the fact that I have a good excuse to use my fountain pens as part of my daily work routine - lawyers take copious notes during depositions amoung other work activities. Unfortunately, most legal pads are made from poor quality paper. I use Rhodia and Clairefontaine pads, they are good, but too expensive to use for daily writing. I use mine for calligraphy practice mostly.

I have recently however started experiencing the pleasures of sugar cane paper. First I bought a Staples Eco Easy Sustainable Earth wirebound notebook and found it was a pleasure to use for handwriting practice. I did not see any sugar cane legal pads on the shelf at the brick and morter Staples store, but know it's available on their website. Office Depot also has sugar cane legal pads, but again, when I visited my local b&m store, there were none on the shelf.

Enter Amazon. An Amazon search for sugar cane legal pads yielded "Cane Fields" brand sugar cane legal pads. How could I resist? These come in 3 weights: 24 lb., 18 lb., and 16 lb. I'm looking for the least expensive pads for daily writing. So I bought 12 16 lb. pads for $20.47; that's $1.70 per pad of 50 sheets. Not bad. But, would they provide a good writing surface?

Wow, do they. First, although I didn't notice it on the Amazon site, on receiving the package and seeing the cover close up, it says clearly "Made in India". I consider this a good thing. The paper feels as smooth as Rhodia, but not that "skating" smooth the way Clairefontaine feels (to me). My fountain pens glide over the paper delightfully. The paper takes the ink very well with no feathering and very minimal bleedthrough to the other side.

I've written on a couple of sheets to demostrate this paper's characteristics.