The Pilot Metropolitan -- "gateway" Pen To The Custom 74

weltyj

Last year I got two pilot metropolitans, an M and an F nib for my daughter. I was so impressed with the smoothness of the M nib (with J. Herbin Perle Noire ink), that I got another metropolitan with an M nib for myself. The pen, which I have been using now for two months at work is just incredible. Super smooth nib, no problems starting, not too wet, but wet enough. Just perfect. It is that nice Asian M size, nice for writing and working with mathematical formulas.

I ran across those custom 74's with the SFM nibs and the little bit of line variation demonstrated, and well, I couldn't stand it -- one is on order now.

I blame the pilot metropolitan entirely on my order, it definitely acted as a gateway to my purchase of the more expensive pilot model.

I only hope the custom 74's is not yet another gateway -- that could get REAL expensive ;)

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• weltyj

• Algester

• CarlosCaligrafia

• MathurinKerbouchard

I started the other way around, first the custom and then the MR. :)

The metropolitan is superb, there is almost nothing new to the writing on more expensive Pens.

The Customs have springi nibs and I do prefer gold nibs when I'm writing for pleasure. Otherwise I use my MRs (metropolitan) at work. Get a Plumix with an italic nib and you can swap it on the MR.

The hobbie is expensive because there are too much variety, and also because in our subconscious we think we are one pen away of getting a holy writing experience. The thing is, every pen will give you a different feel and the hunt for those different experiences is what keeps us going.

Pilot is my favorite brand so enjoy!!

Edited by CarlosCaligrafia

Pens:

Sheaffer Targa M / Parker 45 M / Sheaffer Imperial M / Parker Arrow

Lamy Vista F / Lamy Safari EF / PELIKAN M400 M Vintage (for sale)