Questions About Antique Dip Pen

curiousbibliophile

Hi,

I'm new to using fountain and dip pens, but they've always sounded really cool. When I saw a dip pen at an antique store last month, I ended up coming home with it. :)

I would really appreciate any information you may know about it!

On the back of the nib it says:

A

Edward Todd & Co

New York

It has a mother of pearl handle, and yellow metal.

Even if you don't have much information about it, I have some specific questions:

1. Does the nib part look too long? Photos I've seen of pens similar to this one (I haven't seen any exactly like it) seem to have shorter nibs.

2. What type of writing is it probably meant for?

3. What should I soak the metal part in to be able to separate the nib without breaking it?

4. What size nib is it?

5. (May mean the same thing as 3) What do I use to clean it?

Thanks!

post-116127-0-35735600-1409853524.jpgpost-116127-0-25525300-1409853558.jpgpost-116127-0-68160300-1409853574.jpg

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• kestrel

• curiousbibliophile

• rwilsonedn

• Bo Bo Olson

No, nib looks ok...nibs were from 8 to 1 in size with 3-6 being what is normal today...with 6 now being considered large.

Source...1902 Sears and Roebuck replica catalog and the '94-5 Montgomery Ward.

The nib was called a pen back then...it went in the pen holder.

Gold nibs were tipped with 'iridium' originally called 'Diamond' tipping. Iridium was more expensive than gold....and is quite scarce being only the dust of a couple of inches of the asteroid that killed the dinosaurs.

Steel nibs were the original Bic's....came in little boxes of 1/4th of a gross.

Edited by Bo Bo Olson

In reference to P. T. Barnum; to advise for free is foolish, ........busybodies are ill liked by both factions.

The cheapest lessons are from those who learned expensive lessons. Ignorance is best for learning expensive lessons.

To expand on Bo Bo's answer a bit ...