Pilot Capless/vanishing Point

Tamlynn2210

Hi everyone,

I got into fountain pens around September and, since then, have built up a small collection of 'starter' pens such as Lamy Safaris and Al-Stars, Kaweco Classic Sports, OHTO Tasches and a Pilot MR.

I want my next pen to be a step up from these starter pens and I've been looking at the Pilot Capless/Vanishing Point. I'd like to know what everyone's opinion of it is. Is it a good next step?

I'm a teacher so it will mainly be used for notes. I understand the clip is in an awkward position for some people but I love the triangle grip on Lamy Safaris so will the clip be a problem for me?

Also, how smooth is the fine nib on the Pilot Capless/VP?

Thanks in advance 😊

Ashlene

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Tamlynn2210

• warblerick

• Blue_Moon

• tomkeb

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I have one (Blue carbonesque), and it is a nice pen. The clip position doesn't bother me, but I tried it in store before purchase. It writes very well, though I can't remember what size nib mine has (looks like maybe a Fine). The only downside for me is the converter holds very little ink, compared with a normal sized converter. Shouldn't be a problem for you if you're going to use cartridges, though then you will have to purchase proprietary Pilot carts.

These pens are fantastic. I too am a teacher and they are great for notes due to the time saved not having to remove a cap. The fine nibs on all of mine are very smooth and they are great writers.

Edited by Pensandinks

www.thepenandinkwell.com @ inkwellpens

Hi Ashlene,

I can recommend the VP very much. I hesitated to buy one for some years and when I did, I was really happy about it. The rumors about the clip position, the size/weight (I carry my pens in my shirt pocket) and the small ink capacity made the decision difficult, but the pen has so many benefits that I love to use it.

Regarding your questions: