Vintage Montblanc Choices For A Novice Collector - Help!

DevonEncinias

Morning all!

I'm a novice fountain pen 'collector', have been writing with fountain pens for about a year and a half. I'm looking into getting a vintage pen. I've recently purchased a beautiful vintage Waterman's fine flex in robin's egg blue, which is beautiful. I'm now looking at a few choices in Montblanc. I'm looking for a really good flex pen in Montblanc, but I'm not familiar with Montblanc's number system. If anyone could help, I'd greatly appreciate it! Here are my choices:

Montblanc Meisterstuck 114 Mozart w/ M 14k gold nib, 585 engraved, very good condition - $259

Mid 1950s Montblanc 344 w/ EF full flex, solid 14c gold nib, 585 engraved, very good condition - $290

1939 Montblanc 332 w/ Oblique Medium #2 flex nib, near-mint condition - $265

Thank you!

- Devon

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• DevonEncinias

• Pterodactylus

• jar

• orfew

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi, welcome home. Pull up a stump and set a spell.

The 144 will have absolutely no flex.

The numbering systems changed slightly over the periods involved for those three pens but the first number remained constant; 1 was the Luxury line, 2 the Mid range and 3 the Economy, Student pens. The second digit in the latter two pens signified the filling system, in this case both 3 & 4 would signify a piston fill as they changed the numbering system between the flat top models of the 30s and the cigar shape models of the 50s. The final digit indicates relative nib size and size of pen. a "4" will be slightly fatter, longer and have a larger nib than a "2".

Now general rules. Don't believe everything said about "flex" in pen ads. Know the seller and how much that person knows about what flex really is.