Which Ink Is Safe For My Meisterstuck

thinkingclown

Hi,

I'm a relative newbie to Fountain Pens and was given a Meisterstuck a few years ago, along with some black Mont Blanc ink. I've finished the bottle and are looking for a replacement ink.

I was advised by a clerk in a pen specialty store not to use anything other than Mont Blanc ink due to the Meisterstuck being a resin based pen and other inks being corrisive or there could build up in the pen.

Was this advice correct?

Is the any particular ink (or component of ink) I should seek out...or avoid?

I'm left handed, so quick drying would by nice.

P.S. Other than repeated rinses with filtered water is the something I could/should use to clean my pen?

Thanks for any friendly advice

WayneG

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• corniche

• cadfael_tex

• mhosea

• Bo Bo Olson

Top Posters In This Topic

I've also used Noodlers, Private Reserve, Diamine, Parker and Montblanc ink in all my Montblanc pens.

It's not going to hurt your pen to use about any ink, as long as you use proper pen hygiene. I flush out my pen every time I re-ink it. Saying that, there are some inks that I will NOT use in my Montblanc pens. A couple of these include Private Reserve Ebony Blue and Noodlers Baystate Blue. This is due only to certain properties about these inks that I do not find pleasurable.

However, your safest bet would be to use solely Montblanc ink because it has been formulated to work with your pen's materials and mechanisms. But, I would not hesitate to use other inks as long as you do your research on them first. ;)

I'm still convinced that sellers of pens who only suggest use of that particular company's own-brand ink (if available) do so just to cover themselves. In the event of a complaint or whatever. Not necessarily worth a pinch of salt.