Classifieds is broken, please do not submit any new ads ×

Best Fountain Pen For Fast Writing

acoleman12

I am a student and I love to write with fountain pens. I was just wondering what fountain pen you would say is best for fast and continuous writing. I would be looking to spend £100 and prefer vintage pens rather than modern ones.

I presume the smoothest pen would be the best. I have been looking at the Pelikan 400nn and Parker 51 so it would be great to get your opinions on these pens and suggestions of others.

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Bo Bo Olson

• bogiesan

• Sasha Royale

• imadeadend

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Pick a light, plastic body (and cap, if you post), a nib on the firm side and a sizeable grip. Ink-flow should be good, not generous, and drying time should be short.

A vintage Sheaffer Imperial or Triumph Imperial with an inlaid or conical nib would be perfect. With a light hand, these pens zip across the page. It won't cost you the full 100 quid - far from it.

The Pelikan 400NN is not a good candidate. I can't speak re the P51.

Edited by whitedot

You might try searching for "student" in the subject. THere are many non-vintage and elatively inexpensive units markteted directly at students. Kaweco and Lamy, for instance, have entry-level pens that are highly regarded.

Taking my pens to school fun and I felt elegantly superior for a few seconds in every class. But there were moments of terror and frustration.I enjoyed note-taking and writing with Sheaffer's school series pens that I found in my wifes old art supply cabinets. I bought a couple of the more current school units and liked them, too. But I never took my nicer pens out of my bag at school because the floors are hard; should the pen fall it would most likely land on the nib and be destroyed.