Polymer and Metal Chemical Resistance

PJohnP

I'm probably opening myself up to a storm of vituperative PMs and posts, but perhaps it would help clarify a few of the debates I've been reading on inks, pens, and plastics/polymers with respect to ink effects on pen materials if there were a bit of science and engineering added to the discourse. For that matter, I'll add a few comments on metals as well.

Just to set the record straight on the basis for discussion, I'm a chemical engineer and chemist with a pretty long work history in the chemical process and refining industries where corrosion, chemical attack, and materials failure are a part of the daily life for those of us working in the field. My comments are based on industrial experience, not wishful thinking.

Firstly, pH, which is a logarithmic measurement of acidity/alkalinity, is not the only threat to polymers/plastics or metals. pH, quite obviously, can have an effect on materials, but chemical attack does not start and stop with pH, which can be attack by H+ or OH- ions, depending on specific pH.

Other materials and chemical attack can result in, but are not limited to, polymer swelling, cracking, dissolving, loss of overall mechanical integrity, or a combination of these effects. None of those effects are desirable in a fountain pen.