Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'vegan friendly'.
I've been asked this question so many times and at first it had me scratching my head until I did a bit of research. I assumed Vegans were simply vegetarians and wondered why the question was being asked since fountain pen ink isn't a foodstuff. Vegans aren't just vegetarians, they are opposed to the exploitation of animals and avoid all animal based products. So, the question finally made sense. It seems important to a lot of people so I decided to check whether Blackstone Inks do meet the Vegan Friendly criteria. I wasn't all that surprised to find they did they did but I was surprised to learn that glycerine, which is used in a lot of fountain pen inks as a humectant is usually derived from animal sources. We don't use glycerine so we were able to issue the following statement for the information of Vegan fountain pen users which there seem to be quite a few of based on the number of inquiries I've been receiving. Blackstone inks do not contain any animal products or animal derived ingredients and no animal derived materials are used in the manufacturing process. None of the ingredients used in Blackstone inks contain any animal products or animal derived ingredients and have not been tested on animals. Blackstone inks do not contain glycerine, a humectant and lubricant often used in inks, that is usually derived from animal by products.