Namiki-Pilot Vanishing Point Black Carbonesque

reginaldgolding

Hello all! This is my first pen review, I hope you find it useful. I'm going to not rate my comments, I think. I started with the intention to offer ratings, but I decided against it, I hope the article won't suffer because of that choice.

Please be aware that I represent only myself, not a manufacturer or reseller; I got a pen, and I wanted to talk about it, nothing more. Also, this reflects only first impressions of this pen; I have not used it for a great deal of time, so things may change as it gets some mileage. Also, please search the FPN for the term "vanishing" or "vp"; there are several very fine reviews by other owners of this model pen with fantastic information and photos. I am no expert, so I only hope to add to the larger conversation.

Today, the Namiki-Pilot Vanishing Point Black Carbonesque.

- Pre Purchase impressions

I had seen this pen online and in catalogs, and my first reaction was "ugly, gimmicky, and cheap". The idea of a retractable fountain pen seemed very unsleek and not at all classy, but toysome and novelty in nature. Plus, wouldn't it dry out? The price seemed way beyond the promise as well. However, the more I read, the more I did find happy owners (some unhappy as well), and it put me in the mind of "well why not. it is unique." Of the styles offered, I was drawn to the solid colors most, but their "Raden" offering with bits of abalone in the finish looked fantastic, but much too costly for that frill. The appearance of the Black Carbonesque finally caught me, and that's the model I chose.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2223/2098859960_aed44e8914_b.jpg

- Price

I place this pen in the range of high-end 'better' pens, or lower-end 'quality' pens, judging by cost alone. The scale I'm using for this is my own creation, and may make no sense to anyone else in the known universe (Drugstore pens $0-25, Better pens $25-125, Quality pens $125-300, Luxury pens $300+).