Bexley "Columbus Pen Show 2007" Review

Belan

(Apologies for the quality of the pictures, this is my first time doing this)

post-10255-1194318471_thumb.jpg

post-10255-1194318482_thumb.jpg

Physical Stats:

Capped: 5 7/32"

Posted: 6 5/8"

Cap Length: 2 3/8"

Cap Circumference: 1 15/16"

Barrel Length (sans nib): 4 1/16"

Barrel Circumference: 1 5/8"

Nib: 7/8"

Material: Celluloid

Pattern: Marbled

Primary Colour: Opalescent Chocolate

Secondary Colour: Opalescent Forest Green

Furniture: Gold Plate (?)

Nib: 18K, 2 Tone Bexley marked (F)

Engraving (No ink): (Line 1) Columbus Pen Show 2007 (Line 2) Bexley 13/25

Clip Style: Rolling Ball

Weight: Not available yet, but it is "moderately hefty".

Subjective opinion:

I like pens with a little heft, and this one fits the bill. It's modeled after an older pen, the name of which escapes me at the moment, but I'm sure someone on these forums knows. I've seen the one it's modeled on and the celluloid is a near perfect match, while the furniture is a little different. The opalecent celluloid is absolutely beautiful, even if the colour choices take a little while to grow on you.

The nib is a typical Bexley nib, fairly firm, and quite smooth. If I had one complaint is that the pen writes a little too wetly at the moment ... the fine nib puts down a line that looks like a medium due to the volume of ink being released by the feeder. That flow of ink, however, does mean that the nib flows very, very smoothly. I've tried Aurora blue, and Waterman Blue/Black in the pen so far. The pen did not have problems with either ink, but my personal opinion was that the Aurora flowed a little less (which is important to me if the feeder is over-flowing).