Hero 100, 616 and 132

Nihontochicken

Just to have some writers to play with, and to check out what China is producing, I recently bought three Hero pens, a 100, a 616 and a 132 Model. Here are my impressions. Realize I am a newbie and so perhaps lack some sophistication and experience to well evaluate these pens. Hopefully there will still be something of value here for most readers.

The Hero 100 is the flagship clone of the Parker 51, using a 14K gold nib. I got a maroon model with brush silvertone cap and gold trim. This is a newer model 100, without the Parker-style arrow clip.

The Hero 616 is another 51 clone, a step below the 100, with a 12K gold nib. I got the green model with the polished goldtone cap, which does have the Parker-like arrow clip.

The 132 is another 51 clone, this an offshoot with a half black, half gold barrel joined in a wavy line, with apparently the same 12K gold nib as the 616 (some variance in the plastic parts).

Looks, Fit and Finish:

100: The 100 is a decent looking pen. The cap is the best finished of the three by far. Unfortunately, the clip appears to be anchored to the cap similar in manner to the 132 (see below), giving doubts as to its serviceability. There is an exterior camfer at the open end of the cap, so it better blends into the pen barrel when capped in its overlap fit. Unfortunately, the grooved metal ring between the nib section and the barrel is there just for looks (and it does look a bit cheap), because it does NOT provide a closure detent for the cap. The cap just jams on until stiction restricts further advancement. There is no positive "stop" that I can tell. Basically, this sucks, unacceptable on any pen that has classical aspirations.