Sensa Meridan

acogbill

The Sensa Meridian hasn’t been reviewed yet, so I decided to write one up for it. Apologies for the lack of pictures; I don’t have a camera. There are some at Sensa’s website. Thanks to The Noble Savage for designing such an excellent format!

For pictures:

http://www.sensa.com/collection.php3?curre...&c=&pselected=3

First Impressions

I’m still a newbie at collecting fountain pens, but when I was just starting, I was always on the lookout for pens at good prices. Well, I had seen the Meridian in other places and didn’t think it was that great, but when I saw it on sale at the Fountain Pen Hospital for $40, I decided to get it. (I didn’t know that no one would be selling it for $95, so I thought, Wow! $55 off the retail price!) It arrived incredibly fast—the next day, although I had only selected normal shipping. The pen came in a thick cardboard box with papers, a converter, six cartridges, and a bean bag that probably is a pen rest. The box was none too impressive, but the rest was.

4/5

Appearance

The Meridian comes in four finishes. There is the plain black with gold trim, black with what I assume is no trim, a stainless steel looking color (I’m not sure if it’s SS or something else), and champagne, a grayish color with gold trim. I picked the black with gold trim model. The first feature you notice upon seeing the pen is the bullet shaped, uh, thing at the end. It is less thick than the rest of the barrel and designed so that you can post the cap on it. It works admirably. However, on my pen, the cap scrapes away the gold plating on the bullet-shaped-cap-poster in places, making the end a mottled silver/gold in places, and making the gold lighter all around. The black finish on my pen is very good, so much so that any dirt on the pen seems to jump out. It is quite smooth. The cap of the pen seems has a large “jewel” at the top.

4.5/5

Design

This is where I have most of my qualms with the pen.

Some semi-accurate measurements: