Sheaffer Viewpoint Calligraphy Review

cambookpro

So, wandering back home in the rain I decide to pop into WHSmith and since I had a £10 voucher, I bought something I've never tried before: a calligraphy pen.

Although I do like fountain pens, I don't have a huge collection so this makes a great addition. Here are the key specs:

Make: Sheaffer

Model: Viewpoint Calligraphy

Nib size: Medium (1.3mm)

Price: £7.99

Length: 135mm

Length (Posted): ~155mm

http://i893.photobucket.com/albums/ac134/cambookpro/HEADER_zpseaec2cf9.jpg

The Packaging (4/10)

http://i893.photobucket.com/albums/ac134/cambookpro/2013-03-22180112_zps7b1247e3.jpg

The packaging is plain and simple and is obviously meant to be thrown away. It displays the fountain pen, disassembled, with the Sheaffer logo prominent.

As you can see however, it isn't very durable, and after a 15 minute walk back home in a plastic bag, the top and bottom seem to be bent.

The back of the packaging simply says what'll be inside the box: 1 Viewpoint pen, 1 medium nib and 2 Skrip ink cartridges. It also provides a space in which you can feel the material of the grip - a black textured rubber.

Verdict: 4/10. Shows off the pen; gap where you can test grip. Card and plastic only; bends easily; not much information provided on it.

http://i893.photobucket.com/albums/ac134/cambookpro/2013-03-22180418_zps807ba361.jpg

The Pen (7/10)

http://i893.photobucket.com/albums/ac134/cambookpro/2013-03-22185417_zpsed75c3e9.jpg

Upon opening the packaging, you are presented with: the barrel, with a space down the sides where you can see the cartridge and the ink level; a medium nib; one black Skrip cartridge; one blue Skrip cartridge. I like the choice of colours of ink you get, something I haven't seen with a lot of pens. The barrel is plastic but looks like it would be hard-wearing, however I'm not too sure about the gaps where you can see the ink level - it slightly cheapens the look in my opinion.