Noodler's Bad Blue Heron

Ruminator

I decided to take a mental-health day. Wife and I had a bunch of running to do, including taking our youngest to the airport for a trip to see his girlfriend. I had a sample of Noodler's Bad Blue Heron and an un-inked Ahab (also quite blue), so I decided to put the two of them together and piddle... or putter... whatever.

I noticed a surfactant smell on opening the sample bottle. It's not horrible, but if you're sensitive you should be aware. The 3ml sample is not quite enough to really get a good load of ink in the Ahab, but I was able to get enough in the pen to write with it.

The color is a wonderful dark blue. I think there's a hint of turquoise in there, at least to my eyes. The scan is pretty close to what I see on the paper, at least on my monitors. The ink shades nicely if that's your sort of thing. I think it would be really interesting in a medium or broader nib.

Unfortunately, I'm not very good at flexing the nib, so the line variation is all accidental. :) The color appears similar to the Sailor Sei Boku in my Waterman Phileas with a medium nib.

The ink did not bleed through the HP laser paper, but it did show some bleeding through my Rhodia journal. There is ghosting in my Moleskine reporter's notebook as well, but no bleeding noted. I tried the ink on a cheap paper pad from Staples and it bled badly -- through to the next sheet.

The dry time is reasonable at about 15 seconds or so on the HP paper. I noticed no smearing once the ink dried. The wet-finger test looks about like the original. Some dye was smeared from the ink, but very little so this ink is more water resistant than most I've tried.

All in all this is a dark blue (bordering on turquoise) with some nice shading and is water-resistant. If you can tolerate the bleeding on some papers, it is a good choice.

Enjoy...

-=d

post-72114-0-89999400-1337038096.jpg

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Ruminator

• IWantThat