Omas Extra Flessible Nib

ftnpenlover

First Impression (9/10):

I have been using Omas Pens for many years now and have been writing with the Paragon, the big brother, to this pen daily for about 2 years now. With traveling more for work and the need for an Airplane friendly pen, I purchased an Omas Arte Italiana Milord Fountain Pen. I was lucky enough to be one of the first people to get it with the new Vintage Extra Flessible Nib. I think my new friend and I will have many great years of enjoyable writing! 

Appearance & Design (9/10):

The design is the classic, basic 12 sided Omas style.

Construction and quality (10/10):

The pen has a very solid feel. The entire pen is composed of cotton resin. Initially I was concerned because the Paragon I am use to writing with has a gold/metal bottom portion, so it has some weight to the bottom of it, where this version does not. Without the gold around the bottom, this pen still has a decent weight to it, while being light weight.

Dimensions (10/10):

With Cap Screwed On: 6

Cap Alone: 2.5

Pen Body Alone: 5

With Cap Posted: 7.5

Nib & Performance (9/10):

Omas Extra Flessible

14K Yellow Gold, Extra Fine

This nib is Extra Flessible, so it has a springy feel to it when writing. It still stills firm during normal writing, but with the addition of pressure, it flexes and bends very nicely to adjust the width and boldness of the line that is being transferred to the paper.

Filling System & Maintenance (9/10):

I am use to writing with Piston fill fountain pens. I have never been into the cartridges, but throwing out the cartridge and replacing it with a new one upon landing has been much easier that taking along many different bottles of ink, especially at security !!